Got an email from someone at another law firm that uses WORLDOX today and figured that I would blog about what they asked as there is a scarcity of information on this Document Management System, at least that I could find.
The question was that if you have a document with say 3 versions and you accidentally create a 4th, how do you delete the newest version? The simple answer is that you can't. WORLDOX won't let you.
The more convoluted answer is that you can cut the text from version 3 into 4 and delete 3, leaving 3 versions, 1, 2 and 4.
Another possibility would be to save version 1 as a new document and then cut and paste the text from versions 2 and 3 into new versions of the new document.
Kind of unwieldy and not what the person wants, but it's a limitation of the software. I personally have run into this issue as well and wish that the latest version could be deleted. Perhaps in WORLDOX 2005 which is due to be out soon...we shall see.
I also recommended to the person that new versions of documents not be saved as such, but rather as completely separate documents. I recently found out that WORLDOX only indexes the text of the latest version of a document, so if you have text that should be indexed but is different between versions 1 and 2, WORLDOX will only index the text in the latest version. So when you look for the text that is in version 1, it won't find version 1 of the document.
Now this might not come up often, but there are instances when it will come up, unless you don't use the Save As New Version feature at all, but rather use the document Relations feature that they added to WORLDOX 2002 instead.